120g fatboy setup

Discuss specific plants, general plant care, help setting up a plant tank, rare plants, and general help
londonloco

120g fatboy setup

Post by londonloco »

Hi, my name is Loni, I’m new to your sight. I introduced myself in the Introductions forum earlier.

I am currently selling off my 120g reef and hoping to convert it into a planted angel tank. I have some questions and appreciate any help I can get.

1 - Canister Filters. I originally planned on buying a Fluval XF5, but in looking at different canister filter models I came across a Rena XP3. Ratings are great on this filter (individuals who have used/own them), and so is the price. Does anyone have any comments about Rena filters? I have 2 Fluval on my 75g tangy tank; have had no problems with them.

2 – Lighting, my reef currently has two MH HQI’s 250w pendants w/14K Hamilton bulbs, which I plan on selling. I’m assuming if I kept the MH lighting, I would HAVE to add co2 to my tank to get plants to thrive w/out an algae problem. I’ve read on this site I could get away with 2w per gallon w/out co2 (I'm trying to get away with no co2) and still have plants thrive, which puts me at about 240watts. I’ve been advised to use two 48â€
ddavila06
GWAPA Member

Post by ddavila06 »

hey!

1- i too have the fluvals in my 125 and love them :D i have no experience with any of the others you mentioned though :(

2-let wait for an answer from the experts :P

3- i too made the mistake of mixing to save a few bucks and now i kind of regret it...eco complete by itself is fine as far as i know. i had an aquarium with regular gravel and light and some dosing and the plants didn't really t"hrive", they were kind of "hanging in there" so i think a plant substrate would be better...
Damian Davila
"Fishes-up, chill, Plants too"
"so many plants, so little space!"
ingg

Post by ingg »

I hate to be a bummer. I'll do that first, then on to the questions. ;)