Lighting and CO2 regulator recommendations

Lighting, filtration etc
pleurothallid

Lighting and CO2 regulator recommendations

Post by pleurothallid »

Greetings,
I've got a 17.4 gallon Mr. Aqua that I'm in the process of setting up. I'm new to the C02 realm, but I was wondering if anyone had any hot tips of places to cheap, yet quality regulators. I'm also on the fence between T5 HO lighting and compact fluorescent. I've been using CF with some terrariums and liked them, but I've also used T5 HO on other shorter ones with success. I'd like to hang the light via a pendant, so weight is a bit of a concern, as is sleek/slimness. I'm leaning towards T5 HO, especially if I could find one 24" with individual reflectors, but it seems to me that something like the TEK would be too strong (and pricy).
Jim Miller

Post by Jim Miller »

If you don't mind some DIY Ebay often has dual stage regulators for $30 or so plus shipping. I got mind $42 shipped. It took a bench vise and some wrenches and elbow grease but it wasn't difficult to change it over from CGA-580 (nitrogen, argon) to CGA-320 (co2).

I like Catalina but I've recently seen posts suggesting that hydroponic places have T5 lighting much less expensive. Here's a link:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/light ... ap-t5.html

good luck

Jim
pleurothallid

Post by pleurothallid »

Hi Jim,
Thanks for the tips and the link. It's amazing that these lights are evidently nearly identical to the Tek lights and just a fraction of the price. I'm still worried about them being a bit too bright for the tank and causing issues-- would you recommend a model like this: http://www.growsmarthydroponics.com/Sun ... p_893.html for the tank? I suppose I could always just pull some bulbs until the tank matures, I'd just like to preemptively avoid any major algal problems.

Tank: Mr. Aqua 17.4 Gallon Frameless Glass Aquarium Tank 24 x 12 x 14.4 Inch
http://www.marinedepot.com/Mr._Aqua_Rec ... RA-vi.html
Jim Miller

Post by Jim Miller »